This Is What I Know

I know I’m not where I ought to be. I know that I am trying, God do I know that. I also know that I AM broken. I know  that I am a work in progress, slowly mending a broken heart. Gently allowing knew light to shine into an otherwise dark mind, ever so cautiously I am rediscovering who I am. I know the past cannot be changed. I also know that it is a valuable teacher. I know my experiences, the people that have entered, and even those that have left my life, ultimately have guided me towards a higher consciousness. I know death is a reality, yet I’m convinced my soul has lived lives before this. I know my dreams are outrageous, I know focus is difficult. I know nothing great is accomplished without a lot of dedication, and that first small step. I know I am hurting, I also know I am not alone. I have been abandoned, I have tortured myself,  I have felt what it is like to have no feeling at all. I have experienced the dark. I have seen glimpses of a light so sublime, and even still chose to be numb.  I know I am starting to feel again, and I know that is a terrifying prospect for me. I know that all of this, all of the pain, all of the suffering, all the bad decisions, all of the fear, all of the darkness, and all of the joy, ambition, dreams, excitement, ALL of the energy, the sleepless nights, all of the confusion, motivation, and  knowledge, ALL of it, well? IT IS OK. I am a work in progress, we all are, and we ALL have a story. I know love is powerful, I know peace deserves a chance, and I know releasing judgment takes a great deal of mindfulness.  In the end, through it all, I know my biggest truth is this:

I AM my soul, NOT my demons.

IMG_0473

PEACE

2 comments on “This Is What I Know

  1. Gabriella says:

    Tara, you continue to astound me.

    You embody, from the very depths of your being, a fighting spirit. Don’t let anyone – especially not you yourself – tell you that you are not brave or that you are not strong. You have endured terrible tests, but have proven yourself resilient each time.

    Infinite hugs and kisses, my friend!

  2. Laura says:

    I love you Tara. You are one of the strongest people I know. You are a beautiful person, inside and out, and you continue to push forward through everything that has happened. You have courage beyond words and you remain one of my best friends. Life is harder than it should ever have to be sometimes, but as you know you will grow from these things and become the person you were meant to be.

    Let’s get coffee soon.

Leave a Reply

